Sunbeltblog comments

Gravatar thanks so much for this post. I got the scam email this afternoon and was about to respond to it.


Gravatar Just wanted to say "thanks." The e-mail was sent to my church today, and I was trying to decide how/if to respond when I found your warning.
Bill Davis


Gravatar One of my colleagues just got the same email. It kept her spyware blocking software pretty busy.

I did a Whois search, but it's a private registration (i.e., you have to contact the Registrar to reach the owner):

Domain ID:D150478539-LROR
Domain Name:IVETEFOUNDATION.ORG
Created On:26-Dec-2007 15:46:05 UTC
Expiration Date:26-Dec-2008 15:46:05 UTC
Sponsoring Registrar:1 & 1 Internet AG (R73-LROR)
Status:TRANSFER PROHIBITED
Registrant ID:SPAG-36909989
Registrant Name:Oneandone Private Registration
Registrant Organization:1&1 Internet, Inc. - http://1and1.com/contact
Registrant Street1:701 Lee Road, Suite 300
Registrant Street2:ATTN: ivetefoundation.org
Registrant Street3:
Registrant City:Chesterbrook
Registrant State/Province:PA
Registrant Postal Code:19087
Registrant Country:US
Registrant Phone:+1.8772064254
Registrant Phone Ext.:
Registrant FAX:
Registrant FAX Ext.:
Registrant Email:proxy1101757@1and1-private-registration.com


Gravatar Just got it. I went to the website placeholder. Thanks for the warning!


Gravatar Wow! thanks so much. we have a small non-profit that helps kids in El Salvador with their education. thanks to you I have been 'educated.'

Glad my savy 30 year old daughter told me to look into googling this seeminly 'helpful' scambag.


Gravatar We deal with so many foundations, this COULD have gotten by us -- but something just felt funny to me, so yes, I googled the foundation name and found this. People who prey on non-profit charities should be ashamed of themselves. Ours places shelter pets with senior citizens -- now why would anyone want to hurt either of them? I guess thieves don't care who they steal from. Thanks for the heads up!


Gravatar Another one to say thanks, got the email a few minutes ago - now let's just hope they don't change names and URLs around in their email so finding your page would become more difficult. Amazing scam...every day something new


Gravatar thank you so much for posting this. my organization got this today and luckily i am the person who does research on foundations and saw your post- now it turns out many people from my org are being spammed by her!


Gravatar Thanks much for the warning.


Gravatar Thanks for the heads up. I received this today also. I was in the process of validating this message when I saw your blog post.

Art
www.arthurweeks.com


Gravatar Like the other folks who have commented, I got this today. It looked suspicious to me, and I'm glad to have found your post so that I didn't waste any more time. Thanks!


Gravatar Kudos for the catch. This one is good... almost sincere. I, geek of all geeks, even had to do a doubletake and fortunately turned up your site.

Our staff is warned.

B.J. Morgan
Museum of Making Music
Carlsbad, CA


Gravatar I just sent that person info before I got this info on this website. All I sent was a presskit and sponsorship opportunities. What should I be wary of now that I've responded?

Thanks so much.

David Fajgenbaum
Executive Director, National Students of AMF Support Network


Gravatar Thank you for the heads up on this. Invaluable!


Gravatar This is a fascinating scam case - I got the message at kabissa.org too, and was discouraged from pursuing it further when I saw the placeholder.l

David Fajgenbaum: I wouldn't worry too much about having sent them some info, though if you hear back from them please report it to us here! I am very curious to find out if it is indeed an advanced fee fraud scheme, or if it's just a strategy to get people googling the keywords and loading the trojans.

If it's the latter then this does seem to be a very new, clever idea that may have affected alot of people.

Cheers,

Tobias


Gravatar we got it as well. i didn't find this post by Googling the name, only after i Googled the fax number. it was pretty obvious from the first search that this was a scam of some sort, though.


Gravatar thanks for posting this. i just got the email this morning and did a quick search before responding. thanks for the warning.


Gravatar David:

I just sent that person info before I got this info on this website. All I sent was a presskit and sponsorship opportunities. What should I be wary of now that I've responded?

Just don't do anything more with them. They may contact you, but they'll almost certainly try and get money from you in some way.


Gravatar I too received this email this morning. I searched the foundation name in google, and found this website. Thanks for making this information available to the public.


Gravatar Thanks for being vigilant and catching this #!**!

We were also spammed and unwittingly responded but gave her no info o/t asking what "info" she needed.

Thought it suspicious that someone would solicit to "give" a grant; we also called the 800 ph# but got a continuous loop voicemail system.

Isn't there any way to crack down on these vultures who would prey on small NPO's w/limited resources (us!)?


Gravatar We got the same email on 1/9/08

We also called the voice mail and heard a calling tree. We did point out the URL error to them...10 minutes later a graphic popped up on their "page".

Our response to the email was this: "What specifically are you looking for in regards to information about the APS Foundation of America, as I believe it is all on our website.

By the way, your URL listed in you signature goes to a 403 Error. You may want to correct that."

As of this date, we haven't gotten a reply.

Email Headers started out in Brazil and was forwarded to PA, USA. We have software that tracks IPs. Much deeper than WHOIS.


Gravatar Here was the header:

Return-Path:
X-Original-To: apsfa@apsfa.org
Delivered-To: m6756576@randymail-mx3.g.dreamhost.com
Received: from mout.perfora.net (mout.perfora.net [74.208.4.196])
by randymail-mx3.g.dreamhost.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 6D094783A3
for ; Wed, 9 Jan 2008 05:58:33 -0800 (PST)
Received: from AdamEverardPCctbvirtuacombr (virtua-cwbas189-4-7-26ctb.virtua.com.br [189.4.7.26])
by mrelay.perfora.net (node=mrus0) with ESMTP (Nemesis)
id 0MKp8S-1JCayZ1LAy-0004Il; Wed, 09 Jan 2008 08:28:33 -0500
MIME-Version: 1.0
From: "B. Moratek- Ivete Foundation"
Reply-To: bmoratek@ivetefoundation.org
To: apsfa@apsfa.org
Subject: Seeking information for prospective donors
Content-Type: multipart/alternative;
boundary="---- =_NextPart_001_7716_0BB534E7.3ED22077"
X-Mailer: SendBlaster.1.5.5
Date: Wed, 9 Jan 2008 11:28:11 -0200
Message-ID:
X-Provags-ID: V01U2FsdGVkX18SZmz8ecFzOKDP65M6eEnT9bnnOe3A5JKDPJH
SHm/ 7NvqZtPeosfq2uY40E+dl0vwxNI7sL54eMTjfBA0b15+yu
+NtEdj43bPM1ZraPpMwx7J25OzL5PzEbjeQUuXdU9w=


Gravatar A Real 501c3, thanks for that info -- I didn't have a sample with the x-headers.


Gravatar Hi
I got that also for my non-profit organization.. it is only one of many such scams we get.. the most creative one was a nigerian scheme that said they want to give me lots of money to help them design a bain tumor center in nigeria

Anyway - is there any way we can talk to google and get them to remove all pages from thier index that have code to load trojans? Can't they just scan the pages as they index them and look for suspicious activity - and if found, just ban the site from their index?


Gravatar I always do a search before responding to inquiries...mostly to think about how best to pitch ourselves to a potential new donor. I wouldn't have known to be wary by the placesaver website, so thank you for your advice. I am going to send this information to the Attorney General's office in MA - consumer protection bureau. I like the idea of asking Google to take some action here.
Thanks again.


Gravatar Thanks much. They contacted us as well.


Gravatar cheap wow power leveling buy wow power leveling my wow gold cheapest


Gravatar wow power level CHEAP power leveling goodBUY wow gold


Gravatar MY wow gold
replica rolex
replica rolex replica


Gravatar CHEAPEST wow gold
cheap wow gold
buy wow gold


Name:

Email:

URL:

Comment:  ? 

 

Commenting by HaloScan