A Revolution is the Solution

Holy crap PG.

I haven't read the other article yet but I'm utterly amazed and shocked.

BURN IN HELL FUCKERS!!!!


Jesus friggin christ. so we have actual, legit companies making money with other actual, legit companies and it looks like theres some potentially UA shit floating round in the midst of it all whilst money keeps changing hands regardless. An utter, utter disgrace.

I didnt think *this* was going to be the big "reveal", but this is actually far, far worse than what i was imagining. i hope the adware guys get the answers they need and torch whoever is responsible if it turns out to be true.


As my friend in London would say, "Shitson!"

PG, do you actually mean MMG has no contact? Or you can't find MMG's email since their site was hacked? Or you can't find the CEO? Maybe my post is now old news, but if you haven't tried already, I have two words for you:

"Dylan" and "Touhey"

Exhibit 1:
http://www.crd.bc.ca/jdf/edc/con.../ judge_bios.htm
(Bottom of page)

Exhibit 2:
http://www.royalroads.ca/Channel...2004/ update.htm
(Bottom of page, left column. His picture's there too.)

I don't think he's in charge of MMG anymore but maybe he can help in providing a few clues?


I think Wayne Porter posted that guys contact info on his weblog a few days ago, but it looks like he's unavailable for comment. Surprise surprise...


Gravatar how the bloody heck can people be involved with underage pr0n?
In this day and age I would think we would be evolving past that sort or trash,


Gravatar You're right, Gavin. Here's what ReveNews posted:

Dylan Touhey
Business Development

bizdev@marketingmetrixgroup.com
Marketing Metrix Group
http://www.marketingmetrixgroup.com
Phone: 250-217-1264

The website doesn't work anymore and I doubt emails would illicit responses. But I'm sure his phone could still work, since it's also listed at Smart Park, his (seemingly out-of-commission) other business:

http://64.233.167.104/search?q=c...touhey%22& hl=en


Gravatar One thing I would be wary of, is that this could have been done by an *affiliate* of the distributor (confused? soon will be!) - in this case, an affiliate of MMG. That being the case, the guy above might have no idea who has done this, but if thats the case, is that not even worse that he didn't know his company had taken on board someone like that to do their job for them? Whatever the answer, someone has messed up big time.


Gravatar Looks like Metrix Marketing Group is owned by Triton Marketing, whoever that is. Have a handy little email there, a shaw email... Street Address, too.

Domain Services Provided By:
000domains, support@000domains.com
http://www.000domains.com

Registrant:
Triton Marketing
#34-1344 Pheasant Lane
Victoria, BC V9B5R4
CA

Registrar: 000DOM
Domain Name: MARKETINGMETRIXGROUP.COM
Created on: 06-JAN-05
Expires on: 06-JAN-06
Last Updated on: 08-APR-05

Administrative, Technical Contact:
Plaisier, Adrian tritonmarketing@shaw.ca
Triton Marketing
#34-1344 Pheasant Lane
Victoria, BC V9B5R4
CA
1.2509544009


Domain servers in listed order:
NS1.MARKETINGMETRIXGROUP.COM
NS2.MARKETINGMETRIXGROUP.COM

End of Whois Information


Gravatar three words.
BOUT FUCKING TIME!

hopefully this will shut down those bastards. I just spent three hours removing adware crap from my mother's computer.
("I just wanted to play Bejewled!")

People who pick on the ignorant are assholes...

Ps. How much do these losers make from their so called "advertising?"


Gravatar As I mentioned in the article and PaperGhost said above, MMG may not be the end of the line. Their web site seemed to indicate they were a hired gun taking a fixed fee for distributing files via P2P, but in this business you can't take anything by face value. Probably the only way we'll know is if someone files a lawsuit.

As far as profitability goes, the big adware companies pay 20 to 25 cents US per infection--er, install--for systems in the USA, Canada, and the UK. Most other countries only pay 1 or 2 cents. The original payload may have been worth US$1.50 or so, but at the end with just 180 and DR it was probably more like 50 cents.

Still, DR says the uninstalls are in the "thousands" each day and they say that's just a fraction of all the installs; you know that lots of others get rid of it using System Restore, spyware removers, or reformats. So if you assume 10,000 installs a day that represents $5,000 of daily revenue for the affiliate. I'm in the wrong business.


Gravatar Unlicensed content, pornography, distributions side by side with license key generators, installations through security holes. I thought the adware companies wanted to go legit?


Gravatar What dave said :D


Gravatar The chances of these companies going legit are about zilch. Not when there is easy money to be made. How hard can it be? Take someone's content, fill it full of adware crap and puke it into P2P networks. EASY MONEY.


Gravatar I've just got to say "Like, duh!" Of course some of these companies are in cahoots with people who are pushing underage porn or porn where the person is overage, but they are depicted as being underage.
For goodness sakes, they just had an article in The Sun, saying that they connected some international child porn dealers with a major advertising firm that has done things for Calvin Klein, Mary-Kate and Ashley, and others.
Where there is money to be made, you will find people bending their morals to make money off it, and sometimes they don't even have to bend their morals because they simply don't believe that the thing they are peddling is wrong.


Name:

Email:

URL:

Comment:  ? 


 

Commenting by HaloScan